RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2021, 01:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 674
No power to light switch??

Electrical trouble shooting help request. Iím not getting power to the passenger side outdoor light switch. Everything else works fine. Itís only the wires to this particular switch that are not getting power. Iíve checked all the fuses. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
EEEDF79D-7FB4-475F-8EF8-C2CC94E4DAB9.jpg   70537BB1-8BE6-4117-8389-568EC7883F3B.jpg  
__________________

MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 02:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,796
Have you validated that there truly is no 12 volts to the switch with a meter. A common problem with lights SMB adds is they attach the ground to the body. That screw comes loose or the connection gets corroded and you no longer complete the circuit, but the break is on the return path back to the battery.

If not that then I would suspect a bad wire spice to the (I assume) passenger side 12 volt line. SMB was fond of the quick splice connectors on my rig.

greg
__________________

Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 02:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 674
Thanks for the reply Scalf. Yes I did confirm with a meter that there is no power coming to the wires.
__________________
1999 7.3 4x4 RB50 SMB
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 03:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,796
Another possible place the would tap into live 12 volts would be at a 12 volt aux connector. Many times that are close by to light switches. Actually what about the switch next to it in the picture? does it have 12 volts?
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 03:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
MrHenrietta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 674
The other switch is the for the water pump. I may end up just tying into that.
MrHenrietta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 07:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
arctictraveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,575
Its possible they are switching the ground wire, in which case you would not read voltage between either wire and ground. Just a thought as I have no idea how SMB wires the lights.
__________________

__________________
Arctic Traveller
KC6TNI
2001 GTRV
Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
arctictraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×