Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2022, 03:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Fremebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Power Outage

Believe was caused by too many appliances. Had a space heater and turned on coffee maker. Had been doing that for sometime with no issues.

GFI went out and could not reset suggesting no power from 110

Can run inverter and all working even able to set GFI suggesting GFI working at least with inverter

No breaker triggered but DID reset breaker and replaced main fuse

Confirmed with volt meter have power:
Shore Pedestal
30 amp Plug going into van

This suggest the issue is somewhere between entering the van and where it goes next. Called electrician but holiday weekend so no one can come out. Can run on diesel heater and invertor so "technically" ok.

Worried about what this could be and how hard to have an electrician solve.

Does anyone have any insights as to where the 30amp to 110 wire goes once it enters the van. Since the outlets work with the inverter I am "guessing" it is not within the circuity of the internal system but some where in the process of 30 amp coming into van and going into the converter. Are there any other switches of fuses? Is the convertor and invertor the same.

Any advice, information or peace of mind that an electrician can solve this (versus having to go back to sportsmobile which I am states away from)
__________________

Fremebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,244
what inverter/charger do you have?
__________________

Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Fremebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Magnum MS Series
Fremebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,244
If it is a Magnum then I would look on the side for the CB3 breaker as it protects the pass thru relay.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Fremebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Can you give me any details about where I would find it and is the CB3 breaker a turn off breaker just like the others I see on my panel. I was just looking in the manual ---could that affect DC only and not when using the invertor?
Fremebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,244
This would be the input breaker on the side.




The cables are generally wired from Shore Power input straight to input of inverter. The main breaker panel is on the output of the inverter. The AC input wires are connected behind the panel in the above picture.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Fremebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Thank you I am taken apart the couch now. If you could hang in with me. if any possibilities of calling me at 605-519-9145 I could really use a lifeline today
Fremebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 09:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,244
Any one looking for closure on this post or if looking for solutions in the future. The problem was the that CB3 AC input breaker had gone off. Reset by pushing it back in and good to go.



-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 06:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BrianW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 4,018
Huh, good to know. I wouldn’t have thought to look there!
BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2022, 10:57 PM   #10
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 10,365
Garage
I had a similar issue yesterday. I had no power to the plugs and my inverter control panel showed an error code. Luckily all I had to do was reset my Xantrax inverter. What I didn't realize was if the inverter fails for some reason, the AC doesn't default to passing power through the inverter So basically if my inverter fails like it did and won't reset, I can't get power to the vans breaker panel via the shore power plug. Not a huge deal breaker but if I did need AC power in that situation, I'd need to abandon the shore power plug and use an extension cord that would plug into shore power or a generator to power items inside the van.
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×