Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-02-2013, 10:53 PM   #1

Power problem, Battery? PO said it was new.

Howdy, having a power problem I need some help with! Was leaving Tucson to start my trip back to Oregon and my 12v power is not working. I checked and replaced the circuit breaker under the hood thinking it was bad, which happened before when I was driving across the US. Still not working. Now I have the van plugged in. Yellow light is glowing on the inverter. From what I have read it's charging. Now the 12v lights are working. The inverter is buzzing and the 12v lights are flickering. Is this normal or am I frying my system? I have been driving around so I would think my house battery would be topped off. I am an able mechanic but dumb with electronics. It's a mystery to me. Any advise?

Thanks!!

Lots of Cannondale bicycles...
:h1:
Ojbikemoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:42 AM   #2

Re: Power problem, Battery? PO said it was new.

Don't want you going on a wild goose chase, but I just had "weird" electrical stuff happening due to a bad isolator. All is well now. Other more knowledgable members can parse it more closely than me.
"... torpedo'd, because we don't generally cotton to bullshit around here." -jage
"... do they ooch apart in the night?" -Dia
twogone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:48 AM   #3

If you have an volt meter available you can check the voltage coming out of your inverter to see if it is charging the batteries, then you will know what direction to go in (battery side or inverter side).
time2mtbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:41 AM   #4

When you say the inverter is buzzing, I tend to think it is switched on. If left on while the engine is off, it will kill your house battery in short order.

- Step one - make sure the inverter is OFF unless you are actually using AC from it.