Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2008, 02:56 PM   #1

Refrigerator power

We are leaving next Saturday for three weeks in the Sportsmobile. I have no experience with RV refrigerators. Am I correct in thinking that the fridge will run on the house batteries if not plugged in anywhere? If I plug in to shore power or a generator does it switch to AC 110 or does it stay on 12 volt DC power? Generally speaking, how long can it run on the batteries without draining them? If I plug into shore power or a generator do all (house and vehicle) batteries charge automatically? Lastly, if I drain the house batteries will I drain the vehicle battery also, preventing it from starting? Thanks. oclv

oclv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 04:51 PM   #2

refrigerator

I'm not sure which year your SMB is so I'll tell you about mine. My refrig. is 12v DC and runs off the house battery only. If I'm plugged into shore power that will charge my house battery & chassis battery if needed. I also have a solar panel which will do the same if the sun's fairly high and i'm not parked under a tree or something. How long you can run the refrigerator depends on the setting. If you don't use the freezer and stuff it full of newspaper or some such material, you can run the refrig. at a lower setting. I'm really not sure how long my one house battery could run it, because the solar panel is always charging it. (hopefully) lastly, if I drain the house battery, it should still start. If I've missed anything or misinformed you, hopefully someone will point that out. Hope I've helped.

Philrod

Silver '07 E350 V10 RB50
philrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 06:38 PM   #3

As noted, it would be helpful to know how your SMB is configured since there are a large number of possibilities.