Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-07-2021, 03:08 PM   #1

Rooftop Aircon than runs only on shore power

Hey guys,

I'm diy-ing my van. I'm an engineer, but I have little to no practical knowledge of electrical systems design. So, I've heavily looked at faroutride.com's setup, and I'm largely following what they did. However, I want to put in an air conditioner on the roof that will not be connected to the battery, but only run when plugged into shore power.

So, on shore power, I'll have my battery charger and the air conditioner plugged in. I want to have a 30A inlet on the side of my van that supplies both. Maybe a simple question, but I'm totally green so I'm wondering if this is a workable solution.

This is the AC I'm considering:
https://www.amazon.com/Dometic-Polar...11&sr=8-4&th=1

and the battery charger:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Also, can this be used interchangeably with a regular 30a cable?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0811NMTFD...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Chams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 04:12 PM   #2

Chams,

First off I am an electrical engineer but not a qualified electrician. Of course, I DIY almost all my own stuff.

Looking at the Amazon add the factory says in "best conditions" the amperage of the AC unit is 13.2 Amp-AC and based on a simple calc the 30A charger is probably about 4 amps. Your total is then a little over 17 amps. Hopefully, you have at least a 20 amp circuit to plug in at the house for shore power.

My RV had a large 30 amp plug which is probably more standard at an RV park. I guess this is why you want to run from a single 30 amp service.