Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2011, 01:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 19
Scangauge II and the MPG function

After reading many positive reviews of this tool I got one directly from Linear Logic.

I have a 1996 E350 with the 7.3 diesel and the 3.55 rear end. I wanted to know what kind of mileage I was getting (the easy way with a gauge) and thought this would do the trick...

After setting it up I can't get the MPG function to work. It's set as 7.3 liter diesel (A) and with a 35 gal tank. (these are the only settings that come to mind that would be relevant)

but the only thing that shows up under the MPG field is 9999 and I can't change the quantity of fuel entered for my fill ups, it only changes the percentage. But according to the manual I need to change the quantity.

I've spoken with Linear Logic twice about this and they keep telling me that my van (or any diesel van for that matter) is not supported.

So far all the other features work perfectly and I really do like this gauge/tool I just still want the MPG to work...

Is anyone familiar with this MPG issue?

Thanks in advance,
Terry
__________________

2001chromo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tapatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 999
Garage
Re: Scangauge II and the MPG function

According to their website it is not compatible.

Year
1996
Exceptions
Ford, GM and Dodge trucks with diesel engines. VW TDI with a Black ECU

http://www.scangauge.com/support/com...ty/after-1996/
__________________

__________________
2006 E350 6.0PSD 5R110, SMB 4X4, RB-50, ARB lockers front/rear, Aluminess galore, AMP steps.
Callsign KK6GIY
Tapatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:36 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 19
Re: Scangauge II and the MPG function

Thanks for reply.

I guess I should be happy that the only thing that does'nt work is the fuel measurements. So far everything else does.

Now I've got to learn the X guage programming.
2001chromo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,601
Re: Scangauge II and the MPG function

Get ready to have your finger tips hurt.
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7460&hilit=scanguage

I'm sure there is something similar for the 7.3, you basically enter the X-Gauge mode then edit a slot, then type (by going up/down through about 46 characters) 100 digits. You can use non-standard 3 letter codes (I use OIL instead of EOT) but everything else has to be exact.
__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×