Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2020, 09:01 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 15
Shore power wiring

hello all.


When I wire my shore power box to my inverter / charger, do I need to put a fuse in the line.


also, my inverter charge has a remote on switch. when you are wiring the inverter / charger to the batteries, are you installing a shut off switch. I would like not to have the shut off switch so if I need to turn on power I can. my station for wiring is located in back.


Thanks,
__________________

Captian K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 09:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,572
Would need to know what inverter/charger you are talking about to answer that question. Have you checked the manual?

-greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 08:07 AM   #3
Member
 
jredone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYNJ
Posts: 52
Depending on which inverter/charger you have, most have breakers in the inverter itself that would trip so fusing would be unnecessary. I’m running a Renogy 2000w inverter charger and did not fuse between shore power inlet and unit.

If you’re unsure, running one wouldn’t hurt any.

As Scalf said, would need to know which inverter you’re running. Should have an on/off switch on the unit, so running a remote is “optional”
jredone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 09:43 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 15
I just bought the new model of the renogy 2000w inverter charger

I called them and trying to get an answer on why they took out a built in outlet. Have to hard wire power strip in
Captian K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 09:54 AM   #5
Member
 
jredone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NYNJ
Posts: 52
Any questions feel free to give me a shout. I just finished up wiring three outlets out from the inverter along with the outlets that are on the actual inverter. So you don’t necessarily have to run a power strip if youre somewhat comfortable with 120v wiring.
jredone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 06:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,572
The 2000 watt inverter/charger (SKU: R-INVT-PCL1-30111S)on the Renogy website has a 30 amp internal transfer switch. No mention if it is new. There is a 2000 watt inverter (SKU: R-INVT-PGH1-20111S) new addition that is just a inverter.

The documentation on the Renogy site leaves a lot to be desired, there is no general installation instructions. I believe there is a circuit breaker in the unit but it is vague at best . In most cases with a unit like that with the assumption that you have a 30 amp shore power service going to a 30 amp main breaker you would put the inverter between the two. The outlets could come of of your 15 amp branch circuits. In all cases if you are not comfortable with AC wiring, I would get a hold of an electrician.

I would also ask Renogy for a detailed installation document, or demand my money back. If they can't support their products they should not be selling them. I would expect some data on wire size and fusing on the DC side.

I do have a post with general information on fusing with a inverter example.

The remote on/of switch is a convenience item, the inverter left on will use a minimal of 15 watts. If it is difficult to get top the main off/on switch (most installations) then the remote can be placed where it easy to access.
-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 10:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 112
Even if you do install a inline fuse I highly recommend using a surge/ voltage spike protector. We have been zapped in the past. It took out out the TV, home theater amp & damaged the refer circuitry. Cheap insurance.

__________________

Lilnuts2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

Rex

Tomboy

Dusty

capnkurt
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×