Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-29-2015, 08:18 AM   #1

Sure Power 1315 failed (burnt up!) - questions

On a ski vacation a ways from home and we were driving down the mountain to our condo and noticed smoke coming from the back of the van. Pulled over and it turned out to be the Sure Power 1315. It was smoking at first and then caught on fire. After putting it out drove the rest of the way back. Was able to disconnect what was left of it once I had some tools. Of course, SMB West office is closed for the holidays and I'm pretty new to this stuff. My big question is, is/was the alternator wired into this thing at all. In other words, can I drive home (about 5 hours) and not worry about my van battery dying if the alternator circuit has been broken to the van battery since I've disconnected the Sure power. I've been reading a bunch of posts on this forum and it doesn't appear that is the case, but wanted to get some confirmation.

In case you're wondering, I did see the sticky about the recall. My s/n's isn't in the list of supposedly effected ones. I'd like to talk to SMB and Cooper Industries to find out why it would burn up and what they might do about it, though I'm certainly not inclined to just install another one.
Thanks,
Ed

eruddick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:03 AM   #2

The surepower 1315 is usally connected from the van battery to the 1315, so it does not go between the alternator and the Van battery such as a diode isolater would. So now you just need to make the two large wires going to the sure power safe, and yes you can drive home. Obviously disconnecting at the battery would be best, but You could get away with tapeing off the terminal with electrical tape and keeping them isolated.

I am wondering if the you had a fuse on the ground wire?