RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2018, 08:31 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,764
Temperature Controlled 12 Volt Outlet

I recently found this temperature controlled relay that had two features that set it apart from similar units found on the web.


First, it can display in F or C, most of the similar units, just display in C.
Second, it is panel mount, making display and access much easier.

So I threw together this aux 12 volt temp controlled box, I currently use it to control my Endless Breeze fan.








I also use this to control my auxiliary fan for the refrigerator . It replaced the previous design that was in a box underneath the gaucho and was in C.






-greg
__________________

Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 10:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,185
Very cool......


So the display is set point and current temp? .....and there's an indicator when the relay is closed?? Excellent application to power the fan. ...Thinking about powering the factory fan in the dash....that may be interesting as well.....
__________________

__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 11:59 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Nice find! Does it keep the temperature setting if power is cut to it? ie, can I use it on a switched circuit or will I need to re-enter the settings each time power is restored?

Thanks,
Mike
FloridaNative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 01:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloridaNative View Post
Nice find! Does it keep the temperature setting if power is cut to it? ie, can I use it on a switched circuit or will I need to re-enter the settings each time power is restored?

Thanks,
Mike
Yes, the programmed parameters are retained over power loss.
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 04:41 AM   #5
JWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 3,080
Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
That is indeed a tres kewl device---priced more than fair too.

Thanks for sharing this info!
JWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

quigley

4x4Ken

A Ramblin Van

truen
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×