Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2013, 08:45 AM   #1

Van Starting Issues

Greetings All -

Bit of a quandary here - I have an '05 Ford SMB EB-350 -

I have two (2) house batteries in the rear of the van, that are in need of replacement. (they don't hold a charge for very long).

The van starter batteries (2 as well) are fairly new (about 1.5 years old).

Lately (since the beginning of the year); I will go out to start the van in the morning, and it acts as if the starter batteries are dead, and consequently won't start.

If I then plug it into shore power, and wait a couple of hours (charging the house batteries), it starts right up.

I'm no electrician, but I thought if the house battery voltage was lower than the chassis batteries, the solenoid in the back would not engage, and just let the chassis batteries start the engine as normal.

Am I wrong here - or is there another problem looming that I don't know of ?

Thanks for any sage wisdom anyone may provide!

Joe

Old 06-13-2013, 09:07 AM   #2

Garage
Re: Van Starting Issues

I don't believe the house batteries will ever be used to start the van unless you have a manual override switch installed (my 2011 build has one, not sure of 2005 builds). You might have a bad chassis battery or an electrical drain. Do you own a clamp meter to check if there is a draw? Should be less than 500ma with everything turned off.
Old 06-13-2013, 09:32 AM   #3

A 2005 would be using the Surepower 1315, this separator had a Start assist circuit that Sportsmobile wired to "Start" circuit on the van, so yes it joins the two systems when starting. This has been changed by some using the Surepower separator to a momentary switch to 12 volts.

greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:43 AM   #4