Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-21-2016, 07:31 PM   #1

Question 2004 e350 5.4L - advice?

Hey SMB forums!

I'm very new to the game, but have been steadily salivating over your awesome vans for months. Today, I took the plunge. After some consideration, I decided against the bigger (6L/7L) engines and purchased a 2004 e350 5.4L with 148xxx miles on it for $5100. It has only been driven in dry climates (California/Arizona) for most of its life, and has passed a pretty thorough inspection (by me) for any problems, as well as endured several long test drives. I do not plan to do any super rigorous towing or crazy offroading in this van, but I will be living in it starting May of next year.

I would like to humbly ask for any advice you could give me on the following:

0.) Was this a good buy?

1.) High top conversion. (thinking $1000-$2000 tops)
This is probably the first order of business, right? I don't mind getting my hands dirty, and would like to do things as cheaply as possible (I can do the work myself) while still creating a quality camper. I'm 6'4, so I don't expect to stand straight up in her, but would like as much headroom as my money will buy. How hard is it to install a high top? Where would you recommend I look to buy one? Can I build one? Are there any tutorials you recommend?

2.) Refrigeration. (thinking $100 - $400)
I would like to do most of my own meal preparation/cooking, and obviously need a decent amount of refrigerated space to do so. Any recommendations of brands/types of coolers/fridges would be much appreciated.

3.) Power (thinking $500 - $1500)
Solar panel(s), batteries, battery isolator. Would love any recommendations! I don't need much power, just enough to run interior lights, charge the occasional device and run aforementioned refrigeration, as well as a cooking surface.

4.) Other!