Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2018, 10:08 PM   #1

Camping cots in a van

I am new to E350 and while "van camping" has always intrigued me, I never really been dreaming/looking/drooling (although I wish I had!)

I'll save the story on how we ended up with an E350 Quigley for another day (let's just say it was initiall purchased as a dual purpose vehicle--towing vehicle (for a camper) and people mover, camper van idea came in later as a 'fun' idea, although a van with lift and Aluminiess bumper isn't particularly stealthy).

Nonetheless..
I started measuring my 15pas van so see how I would sleep in it, and could not figure out how folks have beds perpendicular to the van
41" between wheel wells,
66" top of wheel wells. That's 5'6"
I think you do gain max distance at window level, but barely 6 feet, and I am 6 feet tall and around 220lb

I ruled out a side-to-side bed since I couldn't gain 6ft. The math is probably different on cargo vans, although I don't see the max side-to-side distance increasing beyond 6ft).

I believe the reasons for looking at the cot were as follows:
  • better than sleeping on (dirty/cold) floor
  • cot's legs could get around the wheel wells (poor attention to pics, while pic below seems to show only 4 legs, other pics on site show 6)
  • cot is very easy to remove from camper and reuse outside of van
  • 2 cots of type I bought put together make a queen bed, so it had long term potential to sleep 2
  • aluminum bed is pretty light to handle and don't add much weight to vehicle (under 20lb)

Cons included
  • poor ability to utilize space underneath due to X leg configuration
  • probably some awkwardness putting it away vs custom van beds