Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2017, 09:21 PM   #11

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4Ken View Post
one hot day I looked hard at the pop out windows and thought I bet I can put hinges on them and open them all the way out.
I totally want to hear much more detail on this. I'm a photographer and have been wanting to figure out a way to open the side windows farther so I can shoot out of them. Details and detailed pics would be greatly appreciated!

Old 02-17-2017, 10:06 PM   #12

I'm interested in all the details and pictures you can share on your far pop out windows, please.
And had three other E350s...
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 11:29 AM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianW View Post
How do they seal up with the addition of the hinges?
That was my first thought..wondering how they do in a hard rain

Pretty much everyone will step on their 'willy' once in a while.
I usually make it a point to stop and put on my golf shoes first..
E-rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2017, 08:20 AM   #14

Garage
Window hinges – so what lead up to this other than cussing out ford for not doing it in the first place, I know we all looked at these pop outs and said why didn’t they make them open up all the way…. So one day I was at a grocery store a guy in an explorer popped open his back window and put his groceries in his suv and I stopped, looked and thought I wonder if those same hinges will fit on the van??? Nope ½ short or long or this or that I spent 2 months looking at existing window hinges across all makes and models cars and suvs. Some are really close but with glass it has to be right.
So I ended up with these 4 inch stainless steel blank hinges from JMC, took me a bit to find the webpage since I did this 2 years ago. The key is they close with a gap between the hinges this is where the frame work fits in-between perfectly.