Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-24-2022, 06:20 PM   #1

NOT my idea, Floor system Ford E-Series

I am working on a floor system to utilize L-Track for quickly and easily mounting cabinets and gear, since I am not an engineer I do not plan to mount any seats/seat belts to the floor I am making. The idea is from what I have seen from a member on this forum, MGmetalworks. Without his idea/design mine would not exist.

The system I am working on is a total of three panels, two longer narrow panels in the rear and one shorter, wider panel towards the front just behind the driver and passenger seats.

A total of 6 pieces of L-track running from side to side covering the majority of the van floor. The steel panels will have weld nuts on the underneath to hold the L-track in place and be placed where the ribs in the floor are so there is clearance for the weld nuts. The panels will be mounted to the van using the factory bench seat bolt holes.

Below is a picture of the cad design I made for the two rear panels, the light yellow color indicating where four of the pieces of L-Track will be placed.

If any one has recommendations or suggestions on thickness of steel, as well as other recommendations or suggestions any input would be greatly appreciated. Once I cut the panels out of steel, there's no going back
Attached Thumbnails
Floor Design 01.24.2022.png  

Wisco150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2022, 08:09 AM   #2

I made mine out of 3/16” steel. It might be overkill but it is very sturdy and secure. I made mine in 4 panels with 4 lengths of L-track running lengthwise in the van. Mine also bolts down to the stock bench seat mounts.
Attached Thumbnails
50D39A6C-7660-423B-B8D9-B015118A707B.jpg   59B5FBEE-6C04-4D56-A6D7-0DD64123A5E6.jpg   725FDE07-06CA-4627-8AD5-BADD58B0C6BF.jpg  
mothgils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2022, 09:48 AM   #3