Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2009, 04:51 PM   #1

photo mobile

Hi all,
a glance about myself and a bit more about my plans..:
I'm a photographer moved here from Germany in 2005. I'm planning on building me a "photomobile" on a e-series base. I want me to build that mobile "a bit at a time". The final product is gonna be a lightweight (as possible) unit with a penthouse top and 4x4 .
Now my questions: If I get that right, sportsmobile only puts a 4x4 on a e-350 or could i come up with a 250 or even 150? It also seems they only wanna do it on a 6.8L V-10 or 6.0L diesel - so I can't show up with a 4.6 or a 5.4? remember - I'm wanna be lightweight.
Once i figured which chassis/engine is needed - what do you guys and gals advice to look out for when buying an e-series van (other than the usual things one looks at when buying a used car)?
I'm planning on getting me the bare naked cargo van, let smb put me the penthouse top in and I start doing the interior using "kee klamp". Next season then I go back to smb and get the 4x4.
Thanks a ton for any advice,
the picster

picster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 05:53 PM   #2

Garage
Re: photo mobile

Hello Picster,

I am a photographer, and that's one of the main reasons I bought the 4x4 SMB. I'm very comfortable and warm, and always right where the action or sunrise is. Yes, I camped on the ground for most of my life.

You'll love it.
Old 03-16-2009, 05:59 PM   #3

My only thought is you'd be ahead looking for a lightweight van with the 4x4 already installed. If you're willing to forgo the SMB 4x4 and find a S&K, Quigley or other maker you have a higher chance of finding a v8 in some type of work or service van.