Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2016, 02:01 AM   #1

Garage
PhoTow: A Transformer PhotoRig

Hello! I've been hanging out here for a bit and absorbing all the great information and help you folks have provided. What a great site!

So, I thought I'd start a thread for my very simple van build as it progresses and maybe someday it'll help another van newbie out.

Some history... I've been camping for 40+ years and slowly worked my way "up" from backpacking, to tents, to a little trailer about 10 years ago. For a good deal of that time, small van-campers would always turn my head. Fell in love with Sportsmobiles way back, but never seemed to win that lottery I was hoping for. So, a couple of years ago, I found a really nice all-aluminum 16ft trailer to pull with the pickup and we're all happy here on the camping front.

But I go out for long days and the occasional overnight with my photography work, and started dreaming about what it might be like to have a rolling studio where all my gear was safe and dry inside and I could go anywhere, anytime for my photo shoots, have a haven in the rain and snow, edit shots in my down time, and even sleep overnight if needed, without hauling the trailer. But, finances being what they are, the rig would have to be multipurpose: photo studio, family and trailer hauler, and even daily driver for me, to replace the Tacoma.

So, a simple van, with a few improvements, would do the trick. As much as I love all the internal "home improvements" possible, I need to keep the van light for trailer hauling. And, truth be told, I'm willing/able to do only a certain amount of work, which I'll blame on getting lazy with age. I wanted the van to be fun, in really good shape, and not just one more thing to burden an already busy life.