Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2014, 02:25 PM   #1

What about this van?

Hi all. I'm just beginning my sportsmobile journey and I'm curious as to opinions on starting a build with a vehicle like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VERY-NICE-LO...06794&pt=Buses

or this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ford-e-350-s...09195&pt=Buses

Something like this seems like it would have great standup room but I wonder about maneuverability. I don't think I need 4x4 but I do need to get pretty close to the water at times. My van is going to be used for some RV touring but mainly for kayak and scuba diving trips where I'll need haul/store my gear and a place to sleep overnight.

ygreeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 03:08 PM   #2
Site Team

Re: What about this van?

All depends on where you're going to take it. There's no reason you couldn't turn the inside into an SMB-like rig like numerous people have starting with retired ambulances. You biggest limitations will be the size and weight. Tight trails and/or soft soil could be a challenge.

Herb
Old 02-07-2014, 05:06 PM   #3

That style of side door may also be a problem when it comes to locking it.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 05:24 PM   #4

A cutaway bus chassis is a great starting point! The bodies are built for durability.

I keep browsing them because I may do a shuttle-bus conversion some day. The main reason I have not is because finding one with a passenger seat and low miles (under 250,000) is really hard to come by. That and my current van keeps on truckin so its hard to justify a replacement at this point.
Old 02-07-2014, 05:56 PM   #5