Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-31-2016, 09:29 PM   #1

Narrowing down the search

Hi all,

Been lurking around here for awhile, but first time posting.

I've been on the search for the right van over the last 6 months. I've invested some money having vans inspected all over the country, but haven't found that perfect one and it's staring to become expensive!

I was hoping to get some personal insight from all the van owners out there. This is my first time ever owning anything like this, so it's difficult to say what it is I need exactly. With that in mind, I thought I'd list out some of the things I'm planning to do with the van and hopefully you can help point me in the right direction.

Budget - max of $30k including any repairs/updates I need to do myself

Knowledge - basic mechanics understanding and relatively handy, but currently renting an apartment and lacking any real workspace. Not looking to do a full build (or even close) but willing to add final touches.

Needs:
1. Ability to seat 5 in some fashion and sleep at least 2
2. Ground clearance and good tires. I'd absolutely love/prefer 4wd, but I'm a bit weary of the price tag and possible issues/maintenance. I'm planning on taking this van deep into Baja where 4x4 is helpful, but I'm hoping I can get away with 2wd, locking rear, winch, land anchor, etc. Thoughts?
3. Needs to be parkable in normal parking spot.
4. Needs fresh and gray water
5. Needs solar, and a strong enough inverter system so I can work with a laptop for extended periods of time.
6. Desk/table for eating and working
7. Solar fridge
8. Ability to stand up inside
9. Don't need shower/toilet, don't need massive insallation, don't need shore power as I'm really just looking to do off the grid mostly (but shore power would still be cool). Don't really car about a cooktop as I think I'd use a portable grill more often anyways.