Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-27-2008, 01:03 PM   #1

6.0L Diesel Problem

I've had my 2004 RB, SMB since May, 2008 and this AM I started it up for a trip to the Mountains in CO and after a few minutes at low speed I sensed something was very wrong: unspent fuel pouring out the exhaust, poor or no tranny shifting (bad vac?), and a sense that the engine was missing under load. I creeped home and it seems to idle okay, but it is not acting right under load. The engine feels like it has lost compression somewhere.

Any help would be appreciated. This is my first diesel. I have already had to replace the Alternator, batteries, and power steering pump.

Thanks,

David[/code]

Old 11-27-2008, 01:39 PM   #2

David,

That doesn't sound good. I am not an expert on diesel engines but the only thing that comes to mind is that you have a fuel injector that has failed and is dumping so much diesel into a cylinder that it isn't firing and the diesel is ending up in the exhaust.

Do you have a OBDII code reader. If so you should do a scan for any trouble codes. Also you may want to try searching/posting on the dieselstop.com forum to see if they have any ideas.

John
Old 11-27-2008, 03:06 PM   #3

John,

Thanks for the info. The odd thing is I'm not picking up any codes other and a pre-existing condition of having a bad glow plug circuit on clyinder #8 (I've changed the glow plug, but there is something else going on). The condition I described occurs even after the engine is warm so I don't think the glow plug is the relevenat.

Thanks again,

David
Old 11-27-2008, 04:04 PM   #4

David,

I agree a failed glow plug would just make th engine hard to start.

John
Old 11-27-2008, 09:49 PM   #5

Try posting your symptoms on the DieselStop forums. There is alot of good help on that site for diesels:

http://www.thedieselstop.com/forums/f14/