Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2013, 11:19 PM   #1

7.3L Spare parts

I would like to start a list for 7.3L spare parts that may be prone to failure or that could leave you disabled while traveling. It may be worth separating those parts by ones that are easily replaced and ones that require special tools or know how.

From my previous experience with 7.3Ls:
Fuel filters
Glow plug sensors
Glow plugs

What have your found helpful to have along or what did you wish you had?

Warnerd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:30 AM   #2

Garage
Re: 7.3L Spare parts

i keep a cam position sensor onboard. other than that, i plan on a replacement belt and whatever special tools ill need to swap in the field. im sure ill figure out more, but im still a rookie to this game compared to others around.

good thread though. ill be watching it.
"understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of your car, oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of your car, horsepower is how hard your car hits the wall, and torque is how far your car moves the wall."
shenrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:09 AM   #3

I will take an
starter
with me (i make long trips also in mittle of nowhere) I can use my solar to charge the van batterie or use the interior batterie as a starter batterie. But what will happen if the starter itselve is broken?
Happend to me one time in the desert of North Afrika. Was very happy that it was an manual shift car
schluchtenflitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 12:54 PM   #4
Site Team

Garage