Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 04:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jammyauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: santa barbara
Posts: 229
Aux Idle Control

When I ordered my '05 6.0 from SMB on the advise of a fellow SMB owner I added the Aux Idle Control option. My van came equiped with a toggle switch on the dash that I was told turns this feature on and off. I really have no idea what this does. ANybody know? I've heard that if the switch is left on with the trans in park and the parking brake on then the van will start itself up and run for a while in the event that the battery runs low. Is this true? I can't seem to find any info on this anywhere. TIA
__________________

__________________
Seth Hatfield
'05 EB350 6.0 4x4
Homebuilt Interior
Santa Barbara Ca
Jammyauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:53 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Ford_6L_E350's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington - Ridgefield
Posts: 4,727
AIC

My impression was that if you are in Park or Neutral with the Parking Brake on and the engine idling, the AIC will raise the idle speed to about 1200 rpm. Mostly used on ambulances and such that have to idle for an extended time or need extra alternator power.

It seems extended idling at 600 rpm is hard on the engine. Extended idling may cause 'wet-stacking'. I'm not sure what that is, but it is supposed to be bad.

I just don't let mine idle for more that a couple of minutes. And having a good solar panel means I don't need more alternator power. Maybe if I was running a winch for a long pull, or using an air compressor to refill tires.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Alaska to Key West, Labrador and more
Prostate cancer survivor. See Thread Prostate cancer and Sportsmobiles
2015 VW GTI 2020 Fiat 124 Spider
2012 E250 Hitop camper
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toledo, {NW} Ohio
Posts: 87
Idling

Jammy;
Fuel stacking is equivelant to flooding.
In diesel, particulaly the 6.0L PSTD it'll damage the EGR.
Thisbased on my surfing various Ford, anddiesel forums and contact with several Ford Master Diesel Service Technicians.
__________________
CUL8R;
Ken Kill Sr.
2005 SMB RB15
6.0L PSTD
Torqueshift
Voyager Roof
:q6:
kenkillsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
scatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blairsden, CA (when not on the road)
Posts: 1,089
The aux idle switch will not start the engine on its own. All it does is raise the idle RPM so that the engine alternator will put out more and will charge your batteries faster. Also good for winching or anytime your using something that draws a lot of current. Air compressor while airing up, etc. The prevention of wet stacking is also a plus. Handy item to have.
__________________
Scatter
You can be anything you want on the Internet,
it amazes me that so many choose stupid....

2007 RB50, 6.0
K1WGB
scatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gunnison CO
Posts: 34
Aux idle controller

As scatter mentioned, the AIC will not start the engine, it adjusts the idle speed depending on the option selected by the keypad. The auto starting feature, at least on our van, is an addition the John Kalmbach calls "Chilly Dog". It was installed by California Car Stereo, and will start the engine if certain conditions are met that are preset via a black box velcro'd to the dash. It can be set to start the diesel at a preset interior temperature and run it for a similarly preset duration to prevent cooking pets left in the van while parked. If the A/C is set on, it will also come on when the engine starts and cool the interior before the engine is shut off. It can also be set to start the motor at preset times. Ours has a small toggle switch mounted under the dash near the steering column which turns the feature on and off, in addition to arming the integrated vehicle security system.

John Tarr
oldfart3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
JoeyNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New "Yawk" City
Posts: 245
Aux Idle Control

The AIC will raise your idle to 1200+ RPM when the following conditions are present:

Vehicle in PARK
Emergency Brake ON
Vehicle speed = ZERO (extra safety I guess...?)

Actual idle speed will vary from 1200 - 2400 RPM, depending on the needs of the electrical system.

This is a factory up-fitter option from Ford. All SMB had to do was connect 2 wires with a switch. I understand that there is an alternate method that can be used to raise the idle to a fixed point (using a resister) instead of the variable RPM.

In practice, I have found that my RPM's will steadily climb from 1200 to 2400 RPM over about a 10 minute period. I'm guessing this is due to the transfer of power to the house batteries for charging them. If I want the RPM's to drop back to 1200, all I have to do is touch the brake pedal or turn the switch off for a second and it starts all over again.

The only time I use this feature is when I'm using the microwave, to help lessen the hit on the house batteries. If I were to jump start another vehicle, I would also this feature. (Note to self: install one of those quick connect jumper cable thingies.)

On pre 2005 vehicles, the idle could be controlled via a separate idle controller black box. On 2005 and later vehicles, the AIC strategy is built in.

The AIC strategy I'm talking about is for Ford trucks and vans -- I don't know if GM or Sprinter has a similar option.


--Joey "Nick"
in New "Yawk" City

http://www.joeynick.net/
__________________
2005 Ford E-350 Diesel Sportsmobile
EB 102 Voyager top, 3.55 rear, Mobil 1 all around
270 amp alternator, billet water pump, coolant filter kit,
aluminum radiator, X-Monitor with pyro, trans temp, boost
+ Scan Gauge & SCT Live Wire (Economy)
JoeyNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 08:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jammyauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: santa barbara
Posts: 229
Joey and others, Thanks for clearing this up for me.
__________________
Seth Hatfield
'05 EB350 6.0 4x4
Homebuilt Interior
Santa Barbara Ca
Jammyauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 7,621
Re: Aux Idle Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyNick
The AIC will raise your idle to 1200+ RPM when the following conditions are present:

Vehicle in PARK
Emergency Brake ON
Vehicle speed = ZERO (extra safety I guess...?)
The parking brake on mine has to be ALL the way down to actually hold the van but the AIC will register it as on with the pedal only 3/4 of the way down. Still if it's in PARK it's redundant...
__________________
good to be back
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 08:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Silverthorne, CO
Posts: 47
Re: Aux Idle Control

The AIC on my 2005 SMB 6.0 has decided not to work when the switch is activated. I put a voltmeter on the switch to check if electricity is getting there (it is). I seem to recall the AIC not working after the rear brakes were replaced and parking brake adjusted although I don't know if there's an actual connection here- just wanna add a little more mystery to the puzzle. Does anyone know how the AIC is wired into the cpu (or wherever it goes) and how I can troubleshoot this? My vehicle doesn't have the pre-05 remote AIC. It's the SMB hard-wired gizmo with the switch over by the driver's right knee.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Jay
mtnrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
SheepShagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 371
Re: Aux Idle Control

In the engine compartment, there is a set of loose wires kind-a above the PS fluid reservoir, they come out of the loom the runs across the entire engine compartment. SMB would have connected 2 of these wires together through the idle switch. So that's where the are, how SMB run them into the dash area is unknown, but there are also 2 spare wires in the same loom but different bundle that are there for your own use and run into the dash area. These are called "blunt cut" or something. So SMB may have connected the 2 from the upfitter harness to those two spare wires, or just run their own.
If you go to the WiKi link above, I uploaded some links to Ford wiring documentation that explains the above and gives actual locations. PTO wiring is the stuff to look for, for the first bundle.

Note, when I say 2 wires from the first bundle, that's not actually right, you just need to supply power to 1 wire to get the idle stuff working. You can pull power form any source you want. BUT it's best to pull power from a source with a short run as the ECU uses the voltage to determine hi high the RPM's need to be. So, SMB may have used some other power source and just run 1 wire to the PTO bundle. So, first I would check fuses and try to run you own power to the switch, since you already know the power feed is the problem and not necessarily the wire running to the PTO bundle.
__________________

SheepShagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

Van22

Van22

97 Eco

MTDave
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×