Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-22-2009, 09:08 PM   #1

Axle swap-Dana 60

I am new to this so any help appreciated. I've looked at a lot of sites and have some idea of the terminology and what I am looking for but would appreciate some feedback. If I come across as though I know what I am talking about, I don't.

I have an E250, 1995, 5.8, V8 (pre triton), about 7500 lbs, 2wd. I plan to keep it for another 10 years, 100,000 miles.

I want to replace my rear axle with a Dana 60 full floater from an older E350 for two reasons. More capacity (I'm maxed out) and I'd like a Detroit locker. Eventually, I may go for the 4wd conversion.

I've found the following:
Dana 60
Full float
Drum brakes
3.54 gear ratio
30 spline

They are asking a couple of hundred. I plan to rebuild (or have it done) and believe I can replace the ring and pinion to get to a 3.73 or a 4.10 gear ratio. This (3.54) is lower (shorter?) than I am used to seeing. I don't need a lot of power as I never go offroading and would need the 4wd I am planning mostly for sand and mud (no ice in these parts except in bags from the gas station).

I don't know if the 3.54 would be ok for an 8500 (loaded) van.

I don't know if 30 spline is desirable or not.

Is getting this thing, rebuilding it, installing the locker and new ring and pinion, and installing a reasonable thing to do? On a 1-10 scale, how tough is this going to be? I've seen lots of sites where people have done this. I've turned a wrench but nothing too serious.

Any advice is good advice.

Thanks

Tom

bluedog225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:32 PM   #2

Re: Axle swap-Dana 60

The price is sure right and a full floater is sure the way to go. If the rear end is not out of a similar rig, check all dimensions to be sure it will bolt in.