Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2020, 04:16 AM   #111
JWA

Send a message via Yahoo to JWA
I'm a bit sad to see this thread being dragged into areas it was never intended to address. I'll say it once again if you want to upgrade pre-2008 E250's to the 2008 and later E250 brakes this thread works perfect mostly because I've done this as outlined. I don't know whether substitutions of wheels etc will work because I have no experience in that.

To Roccon99: If you're not able or willing to DIY this mod along with ball joints and other steering/suspension work you're somewhat forced into paying the going rate a for-hire shop will charge. Most won't allow customers to supply their own parts which which I understand. While the motive for that may seem to simply increase their profit it has an upside of them being responsible for parts they supply, at least up to the time or mileage limit they carry. You supply the parts that might become defective or fail and its on you to foot the bill to resolve that issue.

FWIW the shop quoting you $1700 for the work your outline isn't unfair. We're long, long past the days when parts were the most expensive part of a job---labor tends to be the bigger chunk today.

I'd not deal with RockAuto but that's me----the same parts they sell are available locally or online. With a bit of shopping around you'll find good prices from sellers with better and easier to deal with customer service. I like Advance Auto for the budget minded, NAPA and/or dealer for the higher quality. Amazon and/or eBay too if you have a specific brand or part number you're seeking.