Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2016, 03:09 PM   #1
Site Team

Garage
Engine Monitoring

Is anybody running a Infinity DP Tuner? I'll admit these engines (especially my 6.0) have a lot of stuff to monitor. I'm no mechanic and consider myself kind of like Oddball and his broke down tank in the movie Kelly's Heroes telling Big Joe " I only ride 'em, I don't know what makes 'em work". Needless to say, a breakdown in the backcountry could be very costly for me.
So anyway I got my new monitor installed and am wondering what are the best things to keep an eye on as a preventive measure to engine failure. This unit seems to have way more stuff on it than my Scan Gauge. I just can't find any data on what the thing can do (see edit). It's unreal what is offered when scrolling through the menu. Most of it is Greek to me.

I already have separate gauges for EOT/ECT/EGT/T-Temp/Boost. On the Infinity I'm watching FICM vehicle voltage, and FICM main power as well as fuel pressure. For what ever reason I was told to measure MAP even though I have a separate boost gauge.

I found this thread very helpful but it's geared toward the Scan Gauge:
http://www.sportsmobileforum.com/for...ups-14270.html

Any ideas on the best areas to monitor? Also if anybody has a web link on the Infinity other than what the PDF DP offers as far as what it monitors I would really appreciate it.
[edit] I just found this:
https://www.dp-tuner.com/aitdownload...itfile_id/544/

Thanks

Dave

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 03:32 PM   #2

Seems like you've got it covered except for fuel pressure.

It varies and also depends on whether one has nixed the EGR cooler which makes EOT and ECT somewhat moot but IMO these are the first four:

1. Fuel pressure
2. Coolant temp
3. Oil temp
4. EGT/Pyro