Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2018, 02:35 PM   #1

Garaged 7.3 PSD

Hi, looking at 2001 EB 7.3 PSD for $16k. https://reno.craigslist.org/cto/d/2001-ford-e350-super-duty-73l/6643994860.html

I was told that before purchase, van was garaged for 7-8 years. Then current owner bought van and has since driven it 5,000 miles. Is this a wise/unwise investment? I have no experience with diesels, and will use it as climbing/biking/camping van. I am willing to learn, but don't want to spend a bunch fixing this van over the coming years. I do not know what steps were taken prior to starting the van after the time in the garage, and the current owner doesn't either.

maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 04:17 PM   #2

Garage
Looks like a nice van and a decent price for one with low miles. I paid close to that price with 60k miles, same year and engine.

2001 Van Haus E350 EB 7.3L Quadvan 4X4
1999 Sportsmobile E150 - SOLD
2002 Sportsmobile RB50 7.3L 4X4 - SOLD
dokaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 04:20 PM   #3

With those miles is likely to be in pretty good shape mechanically. If it were me, for that price, I would still have it looked over by a good diesel shop first.

Just keep in mind that despite the low miles it's still a 17 year old van. There will be things failing due to age and use. (see the note about the window needing attention in the add)
motoidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 04:26 PM   #4

Neither of you would worry that it sat potentially unused for 7-8 years? I'm unsure If I can get it looked at by a diesel shop, but I will try.
maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 04:31 PM   #5

If it was garaged I'd have a little less worry than if it sat outdoors. Still, a good mechanic could identify potential issues from non-use.
motoidiot is offline   Reply With Quote