Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-20-2019, 02:49 PM   #1

Garage
Looking at van with following problem history

I am looking at purchasing a 2006 Ford RB E350 Diesel with 90,000miles, and after numerous conversations with the owner, he said the following:

"About a half year after I bought the van I had some problems. Long story short I brought it in and they had to remove and install a new IPR valve and replace the stand pipe on both the passenger and drivers side. This involved tearing the motor apart. This was supposed to be done when they do the bullet proofing but was not. The mechanic said it is a tough job and is probably why it wasn't done at the time of bullet proofing. Knowing that this was not done he checked everything else out and said that whoever did the bullet proofing did everything else propper and did a good job."

I am not a diesel mechanic, but I have heard on the 6.0l that any problems with overheating heating or injectors can trash the engine. Is the above problem something that can easily be verified that no damage was done to the engine or you feel I should steer clear of the van?

Belize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 05:10 PM   #2

If there is a problem with the stand pipes of dummy plugs then the engine will falter at idle/idle really roughly once it is warm. If its bad enough it won't crank after its been warmed up as well. With a 6.0 I'd make sure and drive it enough to get it warmed up, like all the way up to operating temp. And then I'd let it idle.

From what I know (and I'm no expert) but the IPR and stand pipe issues aren't necessarily related to overheating. They are just things that can happy particularly with certain years. I'd also make sure the dummy plugs were addressed when they did the stand pipes if that was needed.
Quigley with Agile RIP, 6.0 PSD
WhitH is offline   Reply With Quote