Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2020, 09:58 AM   #1

Stock Turbo Model!? ‘98 7.3 Power Stroke

Hello,

I’m sorry if this is a total newb question, but what is the model number of the stock van turbocharger (1998 7.3)? I’ve seen “GTP38” mentioned once or twice, but am unsure if that is only the stock designation for the truck 7.3’s, or...? I know the “GTP38R” is a common upgrade turbo, but I don’t believe the “R” models came stock on any of the Ford production vehicles.

I only ask because some folks list parts as being available for a particular turbo using those alphanumeric designations (GTP38, TP38, etc), but when you ask them about whether or not they fit the van turbos, you get nothing but blank stares. It seems that most of the “knowledge base” on the net is geared towards the trucks.

What I’m specifically shopping for is a turbo blanket. The company I’m looking at makes one for the GTP38R, and said that it will also fit the GTP38, if that’s what I have, but I’m not sure. Eventually I’ll also be looking at rebuilding my stock turbo, most likely with better wheels (I know a lot of people change the compressor wheel, but RiffRaff lists a van-specific exhaust wheel (conceivably for the truck guys who use them) that boasts quicker spooling and further reduced EGT’s.

Anyway, again, sincere apologies if this has been covered, but I sure can’t find it.

Thanks!

crazycaseys53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2020, 03:41 PM   #2

Garage
A blanket for the GTP38 unit should fit your van without issue. The main differences between the truck and van units are internal (aerodynamic changes) and result in a different part number for the turbo unit.