Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2009, 12:05 PM   #1

The Oil Thread -A Cationary Tale?

Discussions about oil go about as smoothly as discussing politics and religion. So, with that, if your feelers are easily hurt, or you are absolutely sure your position is the only correct position, then, perhaps, this is not the thread for you. We've touched on this in various other threads, but perhaps its time for a single thread for information.

So, as you know, I've spent a good $2k+ on fixing oil-related injection problems with my 7.3. Its now fixed. I'm not a mechanic by trade, just a hobbiest. I'm not a person peddling my oil-related wares, so no vested interest. I have two years of engine mechanic training (non-diesel, mind you) and I've been wrenching for myself for nearly thirty years, but never professionally (except a little work (non-diesel) at Ford in college). Thus, I'm no expert and I am relying on personal experience and the experience of others that don't have a dog in the fight. That's key as I've read enough hype from the oil peddlers to last a lifetime, so not interested in hearing the company line again. I'm not going to bring up shear this and equal sized molecule that as if you want to get that technical, the info is out there in unbiased form if you look for it. With that, let's talk about this 800 pound gorilla in the room.