Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2009, 06:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

I am wondering if it's ok to run my van ac without turning on my starcool. In other words, does the starcool have to be turned on every time I turn on the van AC? I think someone at Sportsmobile Austin told me that they are supposed to be run together. Don"t understand why. Sometimes the van AC is all I really need. Can anyone explain this? Any help would be appreciated, Thanks
__________________

bobbyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 07:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,574
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

I believe this was answered in this thread. viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1089 I have been able to use it with it off myself, but I usually now make sure that the thermostat is off and that I start running it with it on, before turning it off.

Greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:43 PM   #3
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,854
Garage
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

While driving always use the Starcool with your stock air.

While parked on shore power, if you have the 110VAC Starcool setup, the thermostat should be set to cool/on and the fan switches must both be turned on. At least that is how mine works.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:22 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

daveb, you say the fan switches must "both" be turned on. I have only one 3 speed switch for the starcool, and it's on the dash. I have always turned it on when I run my van AC. I always keep my thermostat in the on and cool position all the time. My 30 amp. breaker is always off except when plugged in or running gen. Does this sound right. Thanks
bobbyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 58
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

The freon will "pool" in the starcool and your dash ac will stop cooling. Turn on the starcool and it all cools right away
Brent
__________________
b & j
b and j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 10:44 AM   #6
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,854
Garage
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyv
daveb, you say the fan switches must "both" be turned on. I have only one 3 speed switch for the starcool, and it's on the dash. I have always turned it on when I run my van AC. I always keep my thermostat in the on and cool position all the time. My 30 amp. breaker is always off except when plugged in or running gen. Does this sound right. Thanks
Yes, with the Starcool III it doesn't matter on the speed just that both are on. How you want to adjust the temps are up to you. During hot weather I keep the Starcool on high and adjust the front air. In cooler weather I might lower the Starcool fan to low so I don't freeze out. On shore power the Starcool uses a different compressor but the coolant is all tied together with the stock Ford system. If you don't use the Starcool with the engine running I found the head pressure gets a little high, so having both running takes a large load off the Stock system. B&J is correct about the pooling.
I would not worry about damage but it's best to run both when driving. On shore power don't use the Stock air for the obvious reasons. BTW, the thermostat only affects the Shore power compressor and has nothing to do with how the Starcool operates while driving.

Dave.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 10:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

Question. I cannot get my starcool to turn on. I have the 3 spd switch up front, no switch in back. I also notice that the microwave will not come on either. Any ideas?
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:22 AM   #8
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,854
Garage
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

There are different Starcool setups. I seem to remember SMB saying you could order a 110VAC system that only works off shore power.
I think you can also order it w/o the 110 compressor; a 12v version only. Do you know what type you have? Pretty sure that if you have a thermostat it indicates you have a 110 compressor AND/OR a propane heater.

Usually there is a rocker switch behind the driver seat on the wall (as in my van) but was installed in a different spot with some older models I'm told. My fan switch is a 4 position rotory type (off, 1, 2, & 3). Both switches have to be on to operate. I wouldn't think the microwave would have anything to do with it unless you have no inverter and possibly the PO decided on shore power only to run it. If that's the case it's possible you only have an 110 compressor.

Have you ever found a switch that you don't know what it runs? Could be a fuse out.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 11:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

I know it worked at one time. I turned it on with the 3 spd switch (off, lo, med, hi) up front. I did not know it would be better to have both on. I do have a propane heater as well. I turned the thermostat to on/cool but still nothing. I have not found any switch in the rear, or behind the seat. Being that I am new to this van I need to go through the entire fuse boxes and check all of them.

Does everyone have 2 fuse boxes? Is everyone elses Sportsmobile wired like a rats nest of wires? The electrical system in this van is absolutley scarey. Nothing in either fuse box is marked or has a diagram to go with it. I cant believe you put all this crap in a vehicle and not mark what goes where. Trial and error with electrical SUCKS!
__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:02 PM   #10
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,111
Re: Can I run my van AC without turning on starcool too?

I don't have Starcool, but I agree with you on the fuses. I have some fuses behind the driver's knee panel, behind the passenger's knee panel, some under the plastic door sill (seat heater fuses - I think), at least one in my galley unit, and who knows where else. SMB shold document every fuse (purpose, amperage value, and location) and provide that as part of the owner's manual.

I know at least one of my 30A fuses in my SMB-added fuse box is labled "Furnace". Problem is, I don't have a furnace.


Herb
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

Sportsmobile

Churley

"Campy"

campy
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×