Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2019, 04:24 PM   #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by shenrie View Post
not being a smart ass here at all, but how is a van scenario any different than a tiny house, boat cabin, or small cabin? we’ve rented cabins just bigger than the van numerous times with the only source of heat being a wood stove, and none of them had a co2 detector like a lot of peoples van do. am I missing something?.
I have zero experience with tiny houses, but I've lived on boats for a very long time, and have seen one near death experience. My boat neighbor had a small wood stove going one night, and (I think it was) the door gasket in bad shape. He nearly was killed by carbon monoxide from an overnight smoldering fire. I'm sure it was a freak thing, but it can happen, just like any other accident. In addition, many of his neighbors had to endure the smoke. I had a wood stove in my house for years, but got tired of the mess and bringing bugs, wasps etc in the house. If I were adding heat to my van, I would go with one of the knock off Espar diesel fired heaters. They are very inexpensive, but seem to enjoy a good reputation for working well and being reliable. I have an Espar Airtronic (much more expensive) and it's hands down the best heater I've ever had, very small, quiet and fuel efficient. Filling a small fuel tank every couple weeks (depending on how often the heater is run) is no problem when your already at the pumps. Best of luck with what ever heat source you end up with. https://www.ebay.com/itm/2019NEW-12V...3f289b13d87d1c

Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
arctictraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 09:21 PM   #12
Site Team

Garage
Yeah I'm not too impressed with a wood stove in a van. Call me lazy but turning a knob on a stove or pushing a button on my espar to get results that is up my alley. Just me.