Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2021, 01:42 PM   #1

Explain it to me like I’m 5: LP tank running my 2 burner?

Hi all,

My SMB has a propane tank that runs the furnace. It also Tees off to a low-pressure quick disconnect on it (the female side is on the van).

The LP system was replaced recently and all looks good and intact. There’s a male “plug” to keep it clean when not in use.

I’d like to run both my double-Bruner stove (Coleman style. It has threads for a disposable tank) and my propane fireplace (has a tank-style connector) off the vans tank.

As I’m a total noob, I just went to the hardware store and bought a hose with a male low pressure fitting. On the other end I had to use a series of reducers to get to the “disposable tank” threads.

Propane is barely (barely) coming out at the stove. When inserting/removing the quick release collar it seems to have appropriate pressure, so I’m guessing I don’t have the right combination of reducers and flare fittings.

I have a couple of hoses that go from a full size propane tank to the stove-threads and they work perfectly

What hose do I need? Two hoses? One for the stove and one for the fire pit?

Please advise. Links to what I need to buy are appreciated!

TechTonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 02:13 PM   #2

On your stove, you need to use a fitting that threads directly into the stove, bypassing the regulator arm that connect to the small bottles. The system can only use one regulator, and you currently are using 2 in series.

The fireplace probably requires high-pressure propane, which would require tee-ing off the propane system upstream of the regulator. They do sell tees for this purpose, which have the same threads as those disposable bottles. You can find this tee at most RV supply stores. You could run the stove off this too, and continue to use the stove’s regulator-arm.