Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2021, 07:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 9
Rear A/C blower not turning on after replacing main compressor

I have a 2010 EB50 build with A/C vents in the back. I bought it used and as best I know, the A/C in the back runs off the same compressor as the front vents and only cools when the engine is running. There is one switch above the driver head (see pic) that controls the fan speed for the rear.

The main A/C compressor clutch blew apart and I had the whole thing replaced. A bit $$$ for sure! Now there is nice cold air coming from the dash. But, 1500 miles from the repair shop, I just noticed that the rear A/C blower no longer turns on from the switch. I am guessing that something didn't get reconnected when the compressor was replaced.

Any advice or ideas on where to start looking to troubleshoot? Is there a wiring harness or fuse to check? I don't remember if that blower can be switched on when the A/C at the dash is not turned on, but I'm thinking it can't. Anyone know if that blower switch is powered from somewhere near the compressor?
Thx!
-Ken
Attached Thumbnails
AC switch.JPG  
__________________

coot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 07:27 PM   #2
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,717
That looks like the control know that was in the SMB that I used to have. I think the brand was ProAir.

Herb
__________________

__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 07:49 PM   #3
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 10,154
Garage
How did you operate it before the compressor failed? Not sure if the 2010 has a Starcool or a newer Danhard unit. Do you know what system you have?


On my Starcool when driving, that rotary switch needs to stay in the low med or high setting. There is an operating switch (usually located within reach from the driver seat) that sends power to that rotary switch which activates the blower. The Ford A/C controls are just set to the desired setting but both systems must be on for it to work correctly.



Hard to say without knowing what system you have.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2021, 02:00 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 9
Thanks daveb, sorry for the delay, I had missed your reply, and then had left my SMB for three weeks up in WA. Back now and am trying to identify what system is in place. Here is a photo of the condenser in the back. There is no auxiliary compressor, so it is just a 12v system. Are there any other ways to distinguish between Starcool and Danhard?

Prior to it failing, I would operate the system by having the stock A/C on at the dash, engine running, and then twist the knob above the driver side to Lo, Med, or High. Even now, when the A/C is turned on at the dash, refrigerant does go to the condenser in the back and the coils are cold. I just can't get the blower back there to come on. I also can't find a fuse anywhere that might control that blower fan.

Secondary question: I also suspect the Ford dealership will have underfilled the refrigerant, going with just the stock amount. I have seen other posts that the Starcool III requires 4.5 lbs, but wondering if my system that lacks the 110v compressor, would require less than that?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
20210701_183052.jpg  
coot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2021, 03:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
carringb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 5,038
If refrigerant were low, the compressor wouldn’t come on at all. And this shouldn’t affect the rear blower either. Is there a 2nd switch somewhere maybe? I though the star cool had a house control as well and a switch somewhere to select which controller?
__________________
2000 E450 dually V10 wagon
carringb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2021, 04:02 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 9
No second controller or switch on this system, I guess because it does not have a second compressor - no 110v shore system installed.
__________________

coot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×