Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2014, 08:10 PM   #1

Starcool scares the neighbors...

Hello, I am new to SMB camping and would like to ask for advice about our 2002 EB with a Starcool III AC. Had a new fan replaced on the underside condenser and now the system will work. It does not cool very well but after reading posts here I guess that this is normal. My concern is two things. First, the outside fan is very loud and will scare off any campers next to us because it sounds like one of those 12v vacuums is constantly running. Second, when the temp inside the van reaches a point where we here the thermostat click off nothing else happens. The drone of the compressor is still present as is the loud whine of the underside condenser fan. I knew the inside blower would stay on but I was expecting the compressor and condenser fan to cycle as needed by the thermostat. Can someone please tell me if this is normal for a Starcool? Thank you for all your help.

mhdiscus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 09:54 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Starcool scares the neighbors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhdiscus