Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2020, 06:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Question Will Honda EU3000is generator run Starcool AC??

I have a 2007 Ford Sportsmobile that we have owned since it was new. I bought a Honda EU3000is generator 10 years ago and I thought the generator provided enough power to run the AC back then but I haven't used it since. Recently when planning a trip to the Gulf Coast, I decided to take the Honda generator, but the generator overload indicator light came on after only a few minutes of operation and the Starcool AC did not produce cool air.

Because the Starcool AC is working fine during both driving and when parked using a 110 Volt power source, I think the issue is with the Honda generator. The rated AC output specs for the generatorbleare: rated voltage 120 V, rated frequency 60 Hz, rated Ampere 23.4 A, rated output 2.8 KVA, and rated maximum output 3.0 kVA.

Does anybody out there know if the Honda EU3000is generator should be adequate to power the Starcool AC when parked? If it should be adequate, I'll pursue checking-out the generator to see if there's a problem with it.
__________________

geotrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 07:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,161
Is there a data label on the starcool? If it gives you amps or watts it's an easy calculation.


You've already determined the generator puts out 2800-3000 watts max.....or 23.4 amps.


Power (watts)=volts x amps


so P= 120V x 23.4 amps=2808 watts give or take.



The generator can likely produce a little more for a short period of time...like when the unit starts up.


If the starcool is rated for 3000W (3kW) or less than yes the generator should power the starcool.
__________________

__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 08:09 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,730
Be aware that the starcool may not be your only AC draw when running the generator. Depending on your rig, and state of the house battery a certain amount of power would being used for the battery charger.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 10:24 AM   #4
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,983
Garage
Usually it will bog down a 3kw generator when the AC cycles on. SMB told me I'd need at least a 3300 watt generator but I've heard some who added a set of capacitors to help buffer the startup and make it work on a smaller generator.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 10:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
carringb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 4,813
Yup. You need a soft-start capacitor. Or, if you have an inverter, some new ones can be configured to provide supplemental surge power, then automatically charges as soon as the load goes back down.

If you turn off all other loads, and turn off “eco” mode, the gen might get it going as-is depending on elevation.
__________________
2000 E450 dually V10 wagon
carringb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 11:14 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 178
Are these portable units rated different than a generator in an RV?
My Chinook came with an Onan 2.8K microquiet generator and it ran everything in the RV for years before it finally started burning oil so i replaced it with a 4K.

I could run the AC and throw something in the microwave at the same time and it still worked. Granted you could hear it load down with both running but it still managed.
Chinook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 11:18 AM   #7
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,368
Can you start the vehicle engine, turn on the StarCool, add in the generator, and then turn off the vehicle engine? Just curious.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 12:16 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 24
You should be fine. If you're not, take a look at the compressor maybe. That's the only 110v in that system I believe.
bisonthecruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 04:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Thanks for all the responses! I'll dig into the possible issues and solutions you offered and will get back to you. Thanks again.
geotrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 08:35 AM   #10
REF
Senior Member
 
REF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boulder, CO.
Posts: 2,047
Send a message via MSN to REF
Will Honda EU3000is generator run Starcool AC??

As mentioned above....Running one of these soft starter units on our A/C unit in our travel trailer, works with a 2000W portable generator.

https://www.microair.net/products/ea...nt=30176048267
__________________

__________________
'03 Ford E350 7.3L Diesel
(de)SMB'd Custom RB-50
Quigley 4X4 w/Deavers & Agile Offroad's R.I.P. package
CCV High Profile Pop Top
REF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×