Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2021, 01:11 PM   #1

Camper Van Vs Camper Truck

Hi Everyone!

I am a noob on this forum. Sold my Sprinter because it got stuck everywhere. It was a dually and I live in MN. Had it completely converted to a nice home on wheels. Well I sold it and bought a 2008 Ram 4x4 with a 90s camper on it. Put a lift, some Timbrens and K02s along with a Hellwig sway bar. Now she goes anywhere, (almost lol). Well, I'm just not happy about how heavy it is, and am looking for a Ford diesel E350 van to convert. About to pull the trigger on one. My question is, with all I will have to invest to convert it to a 4x4, then the camper conversion, Am I really going to love it more than my camper truck? Your opinions would really help.

chartneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 04:54 PM   #2

Would probably be cheaper for you to get a newer (2007 and up slide-in camper. The newer ones are much lighter then the older wood framed ones.
Weigh your truck & unloaded camper. Then weigh just the truck. That will tell you your camper weight, then look at other, newer camper weights. See if you get a reduction that might work for you.
A loaded camper van can weigh 10,000 fully loaded, but carries the weight much lower.
A camper van is more of a RV. With a slide-in you can always drop the camper and still have a truck.
We have both and they have different strengths.
Conversion in process. Lol
Denver, CO
Lilnuts2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2021, 08:43 PM   #3
REF

Send a message via MSN to REF
I think you’ll get a lot of skewed opinions here, since most of us are, or at least were, van owners at one time or another. It really all depends on what you’re looking for in a travel rig.