Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2022, 04:05 PM   #1

Newbie researching what to buy

Hey there. I’m Sarah. Middle aged, married to a very handy guy, and looking to buy a van that can sleep 3. I want a van because I’m a bad driver and don’t want anything bigger.

We don’t want to spend $70k on a new van. We don’t plan on using it enough to warrant spending that much. Our plan is to take it out for a week each summer and some long weekends throughout the year. Most likely at a campsite. But who knows if always at a campsite.

While my husband is more than capable of building one, a neck injury prevents him from doing that much manual labor.

So I would love to find something for $20k-30k. A van with a pop top so if we take our 20 yr old daughter along she’ll have a place to sleep.

I was so excited when I learned of these older vans. They have a backseat that folds out to a bed, a small kitchen, and a pop top so you can stand in the van and it’s an extra sleeping area. Like the pleasure way traverse. But I quickly became confused.

Is the older sportsmobile made by pleasure way?
What is the difference between the traverse and sportsmobile?
Are the traverse Or sportsmobile regular vans that a company coverts?
Are there others that will meet my needs?

Thanks ahead of time for any info you can give a complete newbie!

Sarahsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 05:12 PM   #2

Garage
Best knowledge is gained by conducting some research so you have a visual of the differences - options on each vary based on what the initial owner felt important & budget.
You can start with these, but there are many sites where you'll find used ones listed (Craigs list, Facebook, RVT, Ebay, etc)
https://www.rvtrader.com/Sportsmobil...bile%7C4906233

https://www.rvtrader.com/Pleasure-Wa...SE%7C764847305