Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-01-2018, 02:10 PM   #1

SMB does have 4x4 build information?

Good day,

I am new to the SMB world. Just bought a low mileage 44K, 2013, E350 EB, SMB 4x4 from the SMB Texas site from remote seller. He came down $5K in price. Picked up in MO and drove it back to CO. Noticed the drive was bit more squirrely than it should be, even with the lift. Took it to my local 4x4 mechanic and he did thorough inspection. Came back with front sway bar broken and lots of teeth in the Atlas transfer case. He sent me pictures. Now have Pitman arm issues as well as tie rod bushings. There goes the $5K to make it driveable again.

So, my mechanic calls SMB Texas (interior build) and they direct him to him SMB CA for 4x4 build out information. Took him several calls before he got a call back. He needed to know sway bar and tie rod parts on the build. The sticky on 4x4 builds was not current for 2013 builds. After talking to SMB CA, my mechanic calls me and questions the intelligence, capabilities and family heritage of the SMB CA personnel. My mechanic sent them pictures and ask for build sheet for my van. SMB CA said they did not have it and do not recognize components on the build. Atlas case is easy and ordered an Atlas case rebuild. Shout out to Hellwig. Kevin looked at pictures and said it was not their sway bar, but 99% confident he has a replacement and sending 2 without any money upfront.

OK, reaching out to the forum members to give me the truth in case my mechanic got a schmo on the line. Is it true SMB does not keep record of 4x4 builds (could seem like a huge liability issue)? If my mechanic got a schmo, is there a better guy to contact at SMB CA for 4x4 build information?

Grazie mille

soloalpinist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 02:50 PM   #2