Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2019, 09:40 AM   #1

'06 E-350 Newbie Conversion Questions

I have picked up a bulletproofed '06 E-350 6.0 extended utility van, two wheel drive.
130k on the chassis, ~10 on the engine work.
Bought it from a local Ford diesel fleet managing company.
He did the engine work and the owner baulked on paying and signed the title over to him.
Engine work: ARP head studs, all new lifters, new head gasket, EGR deleted, STC (?) fittings on high pressure oil pump, rear main seal, rear cover gasket.

I'm being "allowed" to build this under the guise of a camper to transport my wife to her triathlons. My real motivation is to ultimately end up with a 4x4 version to ski the Rockies in winters.

I'm a boat builder/carpenter by trade. I'm putting a "yacht" interior in with serious insulation, ventilation, A/C and heat with all the comforts for both Florida summers and Rocky winters. I'm building it out for ourselves but will hope to parlay this into something my wife has full head room in, a smaller diesel for the economy and 4x4. Read version 2.0 or 3 being a "Box Van"(can I say box van on this forum wit out getting excommunicated?)

I have just enough mechanical/welding skills and plain too little sense to not try to do a 4x4 conversion myself. I'm not attached to building this out 2 wheel drive retaining the option to convert to 4x4 or sell as 2wd as a Florida vehicle and look to the next or next to get my 4x4.

So several of my many questions that I hope you guys can help me with:

I'm always looking for a 4x4 donor. I have a hint of an idea that a number of years of E-series and F-series can cross pollinate. Can someone tell me if this might be true. i.e. can a 2002 F-250 4x4 running gear be used to convert my '06 E-350 to 4x4?