Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-03-2013, 05:43 PM   #1

Advice on a possible SMB purchase

Hi Everyone,

I'm wondering if you all could help me with a decision. I'm new to SMBs-just started looking in the past few months for one so that my husband and I can travel and explore with our 4 dogs.

Ideally we'd like to find one with an open floor plan but floor plans can be modified (fairly) easily enough.

We've found the following vehicle (I think it's a 2005 or 2006) for 38K (it was listed for the high 40's and I think the seller is now desperate because he wants to buy another vehicle).

It has a package similar to the SMB RB #20 http://sportsmobile.com/sections/for.../SFP_RB-14.jpg

The main difference is that instead of rear dinette that can be converted to a sleeping space he has full height cabinets on each side.

Our big concern is what a project it will be to remove everything, finish walls, and install a goucho/sofa/sleeper type thing in the back so that the dogs can actually fit.

But at this price with such low miles I'm thinking it is worthwhile.

My main question, then, is if there are any issues with this particular engine, lift kit, etc.

Someone told me that the 7.3 (oops-I meant 7.2) is a better engine than the 6.0 but I don't know why.

Any advice would be appreciated-I will keep reading the forum threads to see what I can sort out from past posts but thought I'd ask in my own thread in case folks have strong opinions on this vehicle
Thanks so much!
p.s. I do have some pix but having trouble uploading them bc of my slow connection.

* Ford E-350 6 Liter V-8 Powerstroke Diesel with LOW MILES...39,800
* Atlas 4x4 with lift kit
* Interior shower and porta-potty, Norcold fridge, 2 Burner Wedgewood stove
* Closely resembles RB #20 Sportsmobile package
* New Pioneer stereo with Bluetooth, I-Pod connection and Back-Up Camera