RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2016, 05:25 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallypanam View Post
It'll look like this on the outside: http://casitaclub.com/forums/uploads...1334525797.jpg
Well damn. I have nothing like that. Looks like I got the "Scottsdale Special". Odd because both previous owners live in Colorado.

On an up note the A/C works, but seems my dreams of early a.m. heat are going to hinge on starting the van and letting it run a bit.

Odd as that makes the propane's only practical use the stove and hot water heater - something I'm fairly certain I won't use that often. The previous owners noted that they never used the heater. I think it is pretty clear now why that was. Ha.
__________________

SuperG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 05:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Bellpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 354
Battery charged like Mikeracer suggested and clean the thermo coupler that opens the gas valve. Looks like a solid copper line coming out of the gas valve that end by the burner igniter. The tip gets carbon and will not trip the gas valve to open.
__________________

__________________
2010 E350 6.0 4x4 EB 50 SMB
Bellpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 06:57 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallypanam View Post
It'll look like this on the outside: http://casitaclub.com/forums/uploads...1334525797.jpg
Off topic - bug screens? Yours came with bug screens. I'm jealous, mine does not have them.
__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,542
In your first post you said that you had a Suburban furnace. Those are the ones in the sheet metal boxes. There are other furnace manufactures that use diesel or gas for fuel. Those furnaces look different than the propane ones.

Do you have something that looks like the ones on this page, Heating your RV/Caravan by gas or diesel.
__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 07:31 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrie View Post
In your first post you said that you had a Suburban furnace. Those are the ones in the sheet metal boxes. There are other furnace manufactures that use diesel or gas for fuel. Those furnaces look different than the propane ones.

Do you have something that looks like the ones on this page, Heating your RV/Caravan by gas or diesel.
Indeed, in my first post I noted I had a Suburban furnace because I have documentation (in my owner's manual) that indicated I had a Suburban furnace - I was trying the typical turn on propane, turn thermostat heat on, listen for fan - to no avail. Then I started digging and I don't see any evidence of anything resembling a thermostat. The fact I have Suburban docs indicates that was what was intended, but never installed. I'd love to think I have one of the other heaters, but I see no evidence of that (and no docs to support that - only the Suburban docs) - crazy, I know.

This may go down as a famous 'palm to face' post because I bought a SMB without actually figuring out it didn't have heat. Of course I would have purchased anyhow as the price was right configuration perfect and being extreme high altitude (9200 ft) and I've heard it is tempermental anyhow.

To be fair I bought this rig, used it once before winter hit and am now going through the systems to get it ready to use in two weeks. Still, nuts as I've never heard of one without a furnace.
SuperG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 08:26 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperG View Post
Indeed, in my first post I noted I had a Suburban furnace because I have documentation (in my owner's manual) that indicated I had a Suburban furnace - I was trying the typical turn on propane, turn thermostat heat on, listen for fan - to no avail. Then I started digging and I don't see any evidence of anything resembling a thermostat. The fact I have Suburban docs indicates that was what was intended, but never installed. I'd love to think I have one of the other heaters, but I see no evidence of that (and no docs to support that - only the Suburban docs) - crazy, I know.

This may go down as a famous 'palm to face' post because I bought a SMB without actually figuring out it didn't have heat. Of course I would have purchased anyhow as the price was right configuration perfect and being extreme high altitude (9200 ft) and I've heard it is tempermental anyhow.

To be fair I bought this rig, used it once before winter hit and am now going through the systems to get it ready to use in two weeks. Still, nuts as I've never heard of one without a furnace.

Sorry, above should say " Then I started digging and I don't see any evidence of anything resembling a furnace - no vents, nothing anybody else has described."
SuperG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 11:28 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,542
Sorry to hear there is no furnace. The good news is that you have propane so you can always install one.
__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:30 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,754
Keep in mind that all Sportsmobiles were and are custom orders. There aren't any spec built ones that I know of. Whatever it has or doesn't have is what the customer ordered. Still pretty weird that they would have given you the paperwork in your owner's manual, but perhaps it was just a standard pile of manuals and info they had prepared for all of them.

Anyway, in your fuse box (for the camper, under a seat or in a closet, not the chassis fuse box), is there a fuse for furnace? Mine are all marked (it's a 95) and the stuff I don't have from the factory simply has no fuse in it, since there is nothing to fuse.

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:43 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
BajaSportsmobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rancho Nuevo (Cabo/Todos Santos) B.C.S. and San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperG View Post
So with that I can't get the fan to start. Thermostat kicks on and I hear that 'click' for heat, but the fan never starts so obviously everything that comes after that doesn't kick in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperG View Post
Thanks, also forgot to mention I replaced the thermostat last night as that was a suspicion of mine. But no change even after new thermostat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperG View Post
Then I started digging and I don't see any evidence of anything resembling a thermostat - crazy, I know.
Does sound "crazy".

Post some pictures...
__________________
Four time Baja 1000 winner, four time Baja 500 winner. Solo'ed the Baja 1000 to LaPaz/Cabo twice.
4-Wheeling since 1972, Desert Racing since 1989.

AgileOffRoad.com
BajaSportsmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:55 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86Scotty View Post
Keep in mind that all Sportsmobiles were and are custom orders. There aren't any spec built ones that I know of. Whatever it has or doesn't have is what the customer ordered. Still pretty weird that they would have given you the paperwork in your owner's manual, but perhaps it was just a standard pile of manuals and info they had prepared for all of them.

Anyway, in your fuse box (for the camper, under a seat or in a closet, not the chassis fuse box), is there a fuse for furnace? Mine are all marked (it's a 95) and the stuff I don't have from the factory simply has no fuse in it, since there is nothing to fuse.

Yes, that's the crazy thing. A fuse and wires going in and out of it. I bought the thing for a lot of other reasons than the furnace, but I was surprised when I began to poke around that it would only have propane for essentially the stove. No water heater in this either.

The A/C seems to simply take advantage of the intake (under fridge) and vent (over fridge). I also have a lot of round venting in same cabinet area (various places) so I figured that was leveraged for heat as well, but nope. I'm heatless. Would have definitely been a nice to have, but not crucial as there are other options with the 2800W generator.
__________________

SuperG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

Sporty

BusTalker

Beni

hildems
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×