Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2020, 06:04 AM   #1

Inspect used SMB?

I'm new to van life, and am interested in buying a used Sportsmobile.
Is it usual or practical to have it inspected? That is, the vehicle itself can easily be inspected by a mechanic's shop, but the "coach" part and its systems - how are those inspected? I called an RV service department, and they would do it, but I was not enthused by the conversation - the guy I talked to had never heard of Sportsmobile.

Also, my first post here.

TheBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 06:34 AM   #2

Sportsmobile isn't sold by dealers so they may not have experience with the brand. They can check the systems minus the pop top I'm guessing. They are used to slide out walls that operate with a push button these days.
simplesez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 06:56 AM   #3

Inspect used SMB?

[mention]TheBob [/mention] You could also post a general location of the van and see if an experienced forum member who is local would be willing to go check it out (assuming it’s not local for you). I’ve done this for folks in the past, and just this weekend checked out a truck for someone from the Expedition Forum.

Compared with regular RVs, SMBs don’t have very complicated systems and are pretty easy to check out. Batteries, propane (maybe), and simple water systems.

Always budget for new house batteries, unless you know when the seller bought the current ones and whether they have been maintained (I recently bought a new-used van and only found out afterwards that the PO rarely plugged it in... but I was planning to replace them anyway).
BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 07:11 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianW View Post