Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2008, 04:14 PM   #1

Insurance

I just purchased a Ford 2005 RB50 4x4 6.0 Powerstroke and insured it with Allstate explaining them the sportsmobile conversion and that I needed to be insured for the value of a sportsmobile and not a E350 Ford Van. They told me not to worry and next week my policy arrived. On the Policy my vehicle was listed as a 350 truck. Called my insurance agent and he told me once again not to worry that I was covered. My premium was so low that I just didn't believe I was covered for 70k. I called several people at Allstate to find out that I was only insured for the blue book value of a 350 Ford Van. Good thing nothing happened in the month that I owned the vehicle... Any recommendation on insurance carriers?

Old 10-02-2008, 06:18 PM   #2

I know this subject comes up from time to time. I am an insurance broker and I've been having a difficult time with my own coverage.

My company, Allied, in their standard private passenger auto policy, limits coverage for "modified" vehicles or "customized" vehicles to the actual cash value of the stock vehicle plus an additional $5,000 for "after market" parts used to "enhance the look or performance" of the vehicle.

My van has an actual cash value of about $15,000 but the modifications add another $27,000.

Today I convinced Allied to cover the van as a recreational vehicle. I had to provide all of my receipts and some photos to document it's value at about $40k. That is what I would expect to negotiate up to if the van was totaled tomorrow. This value will change as the van ages. Understand also that it is up to you to be able to document and establish the actual value of your van at the time of a loss.