Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2021, 10:32 AM   #1

Is it ever too hot to drive?

I'm no mechanic, don't even pretend to be so forgive me if this is a silly question. I'm thinking of heading towards Montana later this summer, which will involve three days of hard driving and the recent thread Burning Up in the Midwest got me wondering, is it ever too hot drive? I mean, I know the engine is already hot, probably more so than the average air temperature. So does the van care that we're driving in 100 plus temps? I know at least my AC does. But what about other parts? Belts, tires, coolant etc. It's not really practical for us to drive through the night and park in the heat of the day for this trip. Thanks rob

rpoole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 10:39 AM   #2

Even in 120F temps I’ve never had issue with one exception…. If I’m towing heavy (over 12k) up steep grades and it’s over 100F, my rear diff can approach too-hot, but usually maxes out the gauge near the summit. Death Valley westbound is the only place I’ve had to stop to let the diff cool.
Old 06-24-2021, 10:40 AM   #3

Garage
One of the best upgrades I’ve done to my Van was the 5-Star tune that also engages the fan earlier - I struggled with temps moreso because of the 11,500lb weight. No issues on flat pavement and rolling hills but small steep windy roads along with the slower speeds on those conditions shot my temps up quickly. Using the fan help maintain temps has helped tremendously...and when it engages it helps EOT/ECT/and Trans temps.
suspect it would perform same results when outside temps are higher as well.
Another option that has helped was installing a low temp thermostat, it opens fully much earlier than the stock thermostat.
Old 06-24-2021, 10:58 AM   #4