Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2023, 09:21 AM   #1

New to E-350s and looking to build a family roadtripper

New here and looking to learn a lot about the ins and outs of Ford E-Series Vans. I'm not new to full-size Fords as I'm on my second Super Duty pickup (2012 F250 Supercab 4x4, 35s, CM RD2 Flatbed), but I'm just getting into the vans. Basically I'm looking to put together a comfortable and reliable vehicle for our blended family of seven with kids ranging from age 4 to 12. I'm pretty set on what I'm looking for which seems to be somewhat rare, but I'm hopeful:
  • 2014 E-350 XLT-Would be willing to go as old as 2009.
  • Extended length/15 passenger.
  • Not really that wedded to any one engine over another-Wish I could get a 6.2L though
  • Black-Black passenger vans seem pretty rare?
  • Tow mirrors.
  • Cloth interior-Carpeted or vinyl floor...I might even prefer vinyl floor honestly-my pickup is an XL with cloth buckets and vinyl floor.

Those are the basics...here is what I'm looking to do in order of priority aside from normal reconditioning/ensuring roadworthiness:
  • Remove the third row three person bench. Move four person bench from very rear to third row to allow rear seating for maximum of ten/spacious rear seating for five with ample cargo room behind four person bench.
  • Tint all rear windows to 5%, front side windows to 35%.
  • Mount '11-'16 Super Duty Fold down jump seat/console between front seats. I've seen it done before and though the seat is not that functional for anyone besides a smaller child the console is nice to have and what I really want it for. I love mine in my pickup.