Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2016, 08:36 AM   #1

Our Big Decision

If this is not the right place for this thread, I apologize in advance and moderators please feel free to move this to someplace more appropriate.
So what's my question? Well, I'm new to the entire SMB process. My wife and I have made the decision that after years of working and not taking any vacations, we are going to sell our house and hit the road. This decision doesn't come lightly, we have thought and talked about it for quite a while.
If possible, I would like this to be a thread that will follow our entire process, much like a blog without the usual details that might otherwise be unrelated.
Our mission? To spend two years on the road full time using our SMB as our place of residence. Leaning heavily forward Ford (even though I'm a Chevy guy), and also leaning in the direction of new versus used. The first logistical hurdle is how to cut down the time between when we sell our house and receive our SMB since the he SMB will be funded by some of the money which we'll receive from the sale of our home. Anyway, I'll check back in a few days from now with an update.

Black Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 10:18 AM   #2

Welcome. I think you're in the right place. Why Ford over Chevy if you're a Chevy guy? The 6.0 Chevy Vortec is an amazing engine. I like Chevys too but have had 4 Ford vans due simply to price and availability (all used). I see no downsides to a Chevy. There are enough 4x converters and aftermarket support out there now to do whatever you want.

Unless you are a real minimalist it will be a hard transition. Most folks in your shoes still fee a little cramped full timing in a larger motorhome. I'm not disagreeing though. We plan to do the same in a few years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote