RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2009, 09:59 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
SMBDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ncounty San Diego
Posts: 239
Re: Scangauge question...

Can you guys tell me if your scangauge works for the fuel loop (open or closed). It says that it will be open when cold, but I drove around today and it never read CLOSED.
__________________

__________________
2001 7.3 4x4 "Land Orca"
SMBDAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 10:28 AM   #32
Site Team
 
Ford_6L_E350's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington - Ridgefield
Posts: 4,726
Re: Scangauge question...

I thought a diesel was always OPEN loop.

But, I've never checked it.

Mike
__________________

__________________
SOLD04 EB350 Custom Floorplan
6.0 PSD 4.10 Posi
Salem Kroger coil spring 4wd
SMB Trailer w/AT Air Suspension
Alaska to Key West, Labrador and more
130685 miles 16.65 mpg average

Prostate cancer survivor. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11099
2015 VW GTI
Leaving CA for WA
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 11:51 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
geoffff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 989
Re: Scangauge question...

Interesting. I hadn't really thought about this, but being a car geek I was curious and so I googled it....

Today's diesel engines are all "open loop". That is, they have no continuously-adjusting "closed loop" feedback system with a combustion sensor (like a gasoline engine's oxygen sensor on the exhaust) helping the engine compensate for changes in altitude or injector variations, etc.

Here's an article on this issue, and changes to come: Closing the Loop: Closed-loop systems are possible in diesel engines.

-- Geoff
__________________
2004 Ford, SMB 4x4, RB-50
https://octopup.org/sportsmobile
geoffff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 08:59 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Asheville, North Carolina!!!
Posts: 195
Re: Scangauge question...

All right...Just got back from a grueling 2 week assignment camping out on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and in the North Kaibab. Working for the Park Service has its perks sometimes I guess. My scangauge was here waiting for me when I got back and I'm going to hook it up ASAP. As chance has it, my friend is getting married on the North Rim on the Solstice so I am heading right back out tomorrow for the wedding. I want to monitor Trans. temp, MPG, RPM's and one other.
__________________
2000 E-350, 7.3 Power Stroke Diesel. 4x4. Loaded. "The Big Gray Whale"
1982 Mercedes 300D. WVO, SVO and Biodiesel for the last 30,000 + miles. (my 600 mile a week commuter).
Veg Hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 04:42 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Asheville, North Carolina!!!
Posts: 195
Re: Scangauge question...

Just took the SMB out on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon this weekend. This was my first trip with the scangauge and I'm having a couple of issues. Maybe somebody can help me out.

First, I tried to set up the X-gauge to read transmission fluid temp. (TFT) but when I select TFT as one of my gauges no number is shown.

Second, my fahrenheit water temp. (FWT) always show 40.

Any ideas what is going on here?
__________________
2000 E-350, 7.3 Power Stroke Diesel. 4x4. Loaded. "The Big Gray Whale"
1982 Mercedes 300D. WVO, SVO and Biodiesel for the last 30,000 + miles. (my 600 mile a week commuter).
Veg Hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:12 PM   #36
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 10,001
Garage
Re: Scangauge question...

Will the scan gauge read temp on that transmission?
I'd check that then try to set it back to default and re program it. Maybe you missed something in the setup.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:47 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
geoffff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 989
Re: Scangauge question...

I'm probably not very helpful here -- the trick would be to find someone else with a 2000 Ford 7.3 diesel who's had success with the Scangauge.

There's a chance that in 2000 Ford didn't support these OBD-II values on that powertrain. I assume that for the TFT X-gauge you tried both the PWM and CAN methods, and double-checked your programming sequence, right?

There are a couple other Scangauge gauges that show nothing (or bogus values) for my particular engine, too.

-- Geoff
__________________
2004 Ford, SMB 4x4, RB-50
https://octopup.org/sportsmobile
geoffff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:58 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Asheville, North Carolina!!!
Posts: 195
Re: Scangauge question...

Thanks for the help guys...Went outside to check and sure enough I programmed the TFT as a CAN vehicle. I switched it to a Ford PWM and it started working. I also went ahead and programmed in horsepower (HPR).

However, I am still showing 40 for my FWT no matter how hot it is. And this was one of the defaults that I didn't have to program. Any ideas?
__________________
2000 E-350, 7.3 Power Stroke Diesel. 4x4. Loaded. "The Big Gray Whale"
1982 Mercedes 300D. WVO, SVO and Biodiesel for the last 30,000 + miles. (my 600 mile a week commuter).
Veg Hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:59 AM   #39
Site Team
 
Ford_6L_E350's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington - Ridgefield
Posts: 4,726
Re: Scangauge question...

Send Scangauge a question, they can probably tell you the reason.

Mike
__________________
SOLD04 EB350 Custom Floorplan
6.0 PSD 4.10 Posi
Salem Kroger coil spring 4wd
SMB Trailer w/AT Air Suspension
Alaska to Key West, Labrador and more
130685 miles 16.65 mpg average

Prostate cancer survivor. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11099
2015 VW GTI
Leaving CA for WA
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:14 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Draper, ut
Posts: 99
Re: Scangauge question...

my scanguage always says "not ready" when i look for codes..any ideas on that? thanks guys....
__________________

__________________
Joe Skrivan
E-350 V-10; Penthouse, Custom Interior
skrivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×