Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2013, 08:06 PM   #1

SMB or truck & camper

To begin with, thanks to all of you who post on here. In a short time, I have learned a lot and look forward to doing a lot more reading.

At present, I have a Tacoma with an ARE shell. I am a photographer and like the ability to take a dirt road if it looks interesting without worrying about bottoming out or crossing a creek if necessary. I'm looking at retiring in a couple of years, selling my house and living in a vehicle for an extended period (2 years?) while traveling the country. My first question is whether an SMB RB, not a 4x4, would be suitable for this. I like the idea of having more storage space - just have the bed in the pop-up, but I don't want to feel restricted to either asphalt or gravel roads. The other option is to keep the house and buy a big truck with camper and make shorter trips.

Thanks in advance.

BillinOaklandCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 10:38 PM   #2

Re: SMB or truck & camper

If you're going solo you might consider a popup mini for the Tacoma, or upgrade to a Tundra.

Otherwise I'd get 4x4 in a van, even if you have to go older to make budget, because yeah- you don't want to look down a two track and go, "gosh I wonder what is down there". Any of the vans will be comparatively palatial for a solo trip, and it's nice to have the option to sleep downstairs.

Apart from the obvious advantages of a van, you can add a ladder and have a shooting platform with the top down, and the "newer" SMB tops have zip out screens for those early morning shots. I say newer because it used to be an option, then became standard, but I'm not sure when.

Old 12-07-2013, 09:23 AM   #3

We moved from a p/u camper to the SMB. Both work. Both have their advantages.

The biggest advantages of the SMB (for us) were: