Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2019, 01:51 PM   #1

SMB Pop Top Install

He there, I'm new to the smb forum and am posting some pics of a smb pop top I just acquired. I'm looking for tips, tricks, and install advice from the group. I'm a machinist, carpenter, and am pretty handy when it comes to things and have started mapping out my install. I've never done anything like this and I know this is an awesome place for advice.

I'll take any you have

The pop top is in amazing shape. Canvas, zippers, and windows are perfect. Fiberglass is in great shape and the mounting rails are mint.

It's going on an E250.

Help!!!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2247.JPG   IMG_2248.JPG   IMG_2249.JPG   IMG_2250.JPG  

DFarkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:00 PM   #2

Lots of very good info already on the forum on installing the tops.
BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:58 PM   #3

Garage
Boywonder, andrewst, and benjj are 3 members that come to mind that have build threads documenting their installs. Do a search for their threads and I’m sure you’ll stumble onto the majority of the info you’ll need for a successful end result.
"understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of your car, oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of your car, horsepower is how hard your car hits the wall, and torque is how far your car moves the wall."
shenrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 05:30 PM   #4

I just responded to your PM........

Let's discuss here so everyone can potentially benefit...

Assuming that you have a RB (Regular length) body the roof cutout starts behind the B pillar roof rib. It actually requires cutting the rear 1/2" or so of that rib off where's it spot-welded to the roof. If this is not clear let's discuss.