Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2011, 09:37 PM   #1

SoCal - Thousand Oaks area owners - edumacate me

Hi all! Especially anyone in the Thousand Oaks area (give or take an hour)...

I've been reading the forum for a while now, imagining what it's like to travel in an SMB. This forum has tons of great info and opinions and I feel that I'd like to take the next step toward owning a used SMB. However, there is so much info, so many options, configurations, years, pros, cons, etc., that it can be tough to know what to look for. I think I need to see some SMBs and talk to owners to gain a better understanding.

My wife and I've done multi-week road trips (camping, mountain biking, hiking, etc.) for a number of years, most recently in our Honda Element. Outside California the weather, bugs, and lack of space on the inside have made me think about upgrading. I'm not experienced with 4x4, gas vs diesel, etc., but am looking to get that experience and understanding. We'd be using the SMB for a lot of travel in the southwest, but also in the midwest and east (spent a week in the Smokies last year and can't wait to go back).

I know, the Valley of Fire get together is coming up and would be the perfect place to see so many SMBs and talk to their owners, but unfortunately I can't make it that weekend. In any case, would any locals be willing to show me their vehicles and discuss their experience, pros, cons, etc.?

If anyone is feeling generous and likes getting bombarded with tons of questions, please feel free to reply, email, or pm me. Thanks in advance!
-Kevin

Old 09-14-2011, 09:09 AM   #2

Re: SoCal - Thousand Oaks area owners - edumacate me