Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2012, 12:03 PM   #1

Soon joining the SMB family - Counsel appreciated

I've been dreaming of owning a SMB for at least 20 years. I've come close several times but never could pull the trigger. Anyway, now I'm ready...

My budget is $40k to have the rig totally completed. I thought about buying a new Sprinter and totally blowing it up ($70K) but I can't justify the cost for a weekend or so of use a month. Also, having something that bitchin' sitting at a trailhead while I'm out for a couple days will have me worrying about it.

Anyway, I climb (rock, ice, mountains, etc), mountain bike, surf, hike, run, etc. It will be set up for my wife, myself, 2 small kids, and sometimes a couple 50 lb dogs.

I've been lurking, searching, and reading the stickies for awhile. Here's my current list of wants or concerns. (I'm hopeful you guys can steer me through the common mistakes)

2x (not 4x4) currently thinking E250 RB sounds about right
Penthouse
RB 50 floorplan
No head
Awning
Outdoor shower (the one that mounts in the rig but the wand pulls out)
Limited slip differential (LSD)
Lifted some with slightly bigger tires
Maximum space utilization underneath (batteries, holding tank(s), propane, etc.)
Slide out pantry
Heater
Hot water
2 burner stove
Swivel captains chair(s)
Well insulated for both sound and temperature
Small table that can be removed
Space for crates under bench/bed for lots of climbing hardware, etc.
Trailer hitch for storage box and bikes (ala TMTM's setup)
Alarm (I know the guy that owns Encore so all good here)

I'm really into as simple as possible, no fancy finishes, quality design/construction, and being highly functional. I expect to own this thing for 20+ years.